Posted by: vegevores | November 16, 2011

Holiday Hankerins!

Tis the season to bring a dish to pass, my friends! Luckily for me, some friends of mine had a fabulous idea that I highly recommend you steal to kick off your own holiday season: recipe party! There were three hostesses (to help ensure a large group of people who hadn’t necessarily been at a party together before) each of whom invited a few friends. Guests were asked to bring a bottle of wine, a dish to pass, and copies of the recipe of their dish. It was genius! Not only was it a lovely night of wine, food and new friends but every guest left with new recipes all set to be tried out at upcoming family functions.

 

Here is what I brought with me. These do have crab in them, so not strictly vegetarian. Maybe imitation crab would help to appease the vegetarian crowd that doesn’t eat seafood? I don’t know enough about seafood as it relates to vegetarianism to say. But if you can get them to work, they are a sure crowd pleaser. I recommend you bake them at the party if possible, as they are best when eaten piping hot (I have the burns on the roof of my mouth to prove it).

 

Bippy’s Crabs*

1 can of crab meat

1 (5 ounce) jar of Old English Cheese

1/2 stick of butter

2 Tablespoons Mayonnaise

Season salt (to taste)

Salt and pepper (to taste)

1 pkg (6) English muffins

 

 

-preheat the oven to 425 degrees

-melt the butter over medium low heat in a large saucepan

-add the rest of the ingredients and stir until thoroughly mixed and heated through

-cut English Muffins and arrange cut side up on a cookie sheet covered in aluminum foil

-spoon the cheese mix over the English Muffins

-bake until the cheese bubbles and the edges of the English Muffins are golden brown

 

*I have no idea why they are called this. This was my Aunt’s recipe and my grandpa called her Bippy, but I don’t know why. Her name is Marsha. Who knows with family.


Leave a comment

Categories