Posted by: vegevores | July 10, 2012

Spaghetti Pancake- GIVE IT A CHANCE!

by Samantha

After writing the oatmeal pancake post, I thought it would be a good idea to share my recipe for spaghetti pancakes. Spaghetti pancakes are something I grew up with and as such, didn’t think they were weird. Sort of like how one day when I was 13 I realized I’d been eating raw meat my entire life (listen, even as a vegetarian I am here to tell you that stuff is good and my grandpa and uncles make it very well and I never once got sick eating it) or how when she was in high school my sister thought everyone called croutons “crunchy bunchies” not just the people in our family. You know how it is: there is stuff from your childhood you thought was normal until one day you’re with other people and realize nope, that’s just you.When I told Liz about spaghetti pancakes, I thought she was going to throw up on me.

When I was growing up, my mom would use left over spaghetti from dinner to make us a breakfast of spaghetti pancakes. Calling them pancakes is a reflection on their shape and preparation and has nothing to do with their flavor. These are not pancakes with spaghetti in them, as you will soon see. They are savory, not sweet. Here’s how you do it!

Ingredients:

Cold cooked spaghetti

Eggs

Parmesan cheese

Garlic Salt

Butter

Salt

This is one of those classic mom recipes in that there are no specified amounts for the ingredients. It’s all about eyeballing it and making it to taste.

So first you take some spaghetti. You do not want the spaghetti to be hot (remember this was originally created to use up leftovers from eating spaghetti the night before) or when you add the egg it will start to cook before you even get it in the pan. I made spaghetti specifically to make a spaghetti pancake for this post and had to stick my spaghetti in the freezer for a few minutes. So do what you gotta do, but you want it no warmer than room temp.

Put some of your spaghetti in a mixing bowl. This is one of those recipes where you want to add your ingredients slowly until the texture is right because you can always add more but removing is not an option. Start with a little spaghetti and then crack an egg over it and use a fork to scramble the egg and mix it in with the spaghetti. What you want is for all the spaghetti to be evenly covered with egg. You don’t want it too eggy (because then you’re looking at scrambled eggs with spaghetti in it) but you need enough egg for the noodles to stick together. If I had to guess I would say that for one person I use one egg and a few handfulls of spaghetti. Once you’ve got the consistency about right, add some Parmesan cheese and garlic salt. Don’t overdo it because you can’t taste it at this point and you can add more later.

Heat some butter in a frying pan over medium-high heat. Scrape your spaghetti and egg mixture into the pan and enjoy the sizzley sounds.

I like to add a generous amount of parm at this point. And maybe some more garlic salt too. Let your sense of smell be your guide!

Cook it until it’s holding together and the cooked side is a golden brown. Then flip it and cook the other side.

This is what it looks like when it’s all done, crispy and delicious! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

